Balance: A note to the devs

Zenix.6198

First of all, calm down, I wont make bold suggestions as to how to "fix" balance issues in the competitive gamemodes here.

Secondly, I have no background in programming or game design, so I might very well be talking out of my kitten here.

Lastly, I also know that its not up to a single person to decide what's happening balance wise or how many resources are dedicated to it, so please dont take this as a personal slight.

Soooo....

Personally I have never seen so many people complain about the state of the game balance wise as there are right now (although I only have been playing since early 2014).

A vast majority of the community agrees that powercreep is out of control and needs to be adressed in some form.

As it stands right now, I - personally, as a player - would NOT recommend PvP to a completely new player, since I imagine it to be a quite frustrating experience for someone that is still learning the game.

Now there are a lot of people that claim, that support for the competitive modes simply isn't lucrative from a business PoV. But in all honesty, I think that is utter BS.

Sure, the PvP/WvW community might not be the big spenders and might be a minority but they are (and this is an assumption) very low maintenance.

We don't need new maps. We don't need new models. We don't need new voice acting. We don't need new animations.

We simply need (and here I might oversimplify) some people to change some numbers on a spreadsheet.

And personally, I'm convinced that a well done balance patch doesn't even come close to the ressources required (programming, work hours, etc.) for the, lets say, release of a new Living world chapter.

Balance patches ARE content patches for the PvP/WvW crowd.