Returning after about a year and have questions about the state of PvP and the "meta"

Dizzbudd.6452

I have been playing GW2 on and off since about 2013 and there have been quite a number of changes over the years. Initially I found gw2 to have the best PvP system, or at least to my liking because nothing was "meta". Any build was viable for any profession but each build required a unique play style in order to be effective and I LOVED it. To my dismay over the years updates to the game started narrowing down exactly what is and what isn't a good choice for a build in PvP and although disappointed, I dealt with it and continued to play the game and participate in PvP whenever I wasn't looking for new cosmetics. However, at the point I stopped playing a year ago, PvP matches went something like:

*Invuln, invuln, invuln, immune, immune, immune, 2 second burst, dead* (not always in that order but you get what I mean). The deadeye that's positioned on a pillar out of range and almost impossible to get to without taking some huge detour is invisible the whole time up until they one-shot you with all the stacks of malice or whatever they have built up. The mesmer you're fighting can't be touched the entire time you're fighting them but you're dead within a few seconds thanks to the M E T A B U R S T and then if you've somehow got the upper hand on them they just teleport a mile away and that burst will be ready again as soon as all the buffs you popped to avoid getting insta-bursted have expired. The "meta" then became the only thing that was viable in PvP because anything deviating from it was simply a worse choice and you were crippling yourself if you didn't do the same cookie cutter build as everyone else (i.e. forced to use a build that uses instant skills that can't be removed via buff removal).