Returning player help :)

Hello! So, I started playing GW2 on the release and played pretty consistently until about 2013/14, but the legendary grind and having a hard time progressing due to RNG really left a bad taste in my mouth. Due to a real lack of any other options other than WoW (no ty), and ESO (which I'm taking a break from), I'm considering coming back to GW2. Have things improved since 2014? I've heard a lot of no-so-good rumblings over on Reddit, and it seems like the community for this game has kind of withered away. My questions are:

1)Is the legendary weapon system still the same?

2)How's the community? Is it dead or still somewhat active?

3)I've read that people don't really run dungeons or raids much anymore, is this true?

4)Is it possible to catch up on the LW or did I just miss all that content?

Thanks!

Legendaries are as grindy (or more) than ever, there's a thriving community, both guilded and casual, dungeons are pretty much dead but have been replaced by fractals, which are doing good, as are raids (find a guild), and yes you can catch up with LW except for season 1 - the others can be had for gems.

Like you, I dropped out of GW2 around 2014, and I initially skipped HoT because I had no idea how absolutely GREAT it is (if you like meta events with big groups, no other MMO comes even close). PoF has a much more casual pacing, but looks, sounds and feels (best mounts anywhere) great too, even if I haven't touched it much after completing the zones because HoT is just so addictive (unless you hate exploring, it's a real maze).

Frankly, anyone claiming it's "withered away"is lying. Game is better than ever, and so is the population.

Why not just install and come try? No silly subs :)

> @"Barrages.7352" said: