Disillusion of choice: death of Mesmer builds

rhall.8150

I’ve been playing Mesmer since 2012 and I have to say I’m more disappointed in the balance patch than any before. ANet has taken a entire gameplay of a class and narrowed down the builds to only shatter. Phantasms are clunky, not worth the payoff, and are nothing more than the warband from the Renegade class. Phantasmal defender and signet of ether skills I used in both PVE and PVP have been nerfed to the ground to the point that sustain builds are not a realistic competitive option.

I get that ANet was trying to make the class more active but in consequence they completely changed the feel and play of Mesmer. Entire trait lines have been changed and half of our illusions are barely more than useless. A suggestion I might make for ANet devs is that they make this new form of phantasms an option for mesmers as a trait, say in the illusions line, that changes phantasms into a one attack illusion before turning into clones. That way we have the choice as to how we want to run our characters. If they want to combat passive play, they should find another way of doing it, rather than punishing us all for the actions of a specific few in a specific game mode (raids)

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I kinda disagree, i have been trying various different trait lines seeing different benefits of each. I quite like the changes they have made but i do feel that the Phantasm attacks could be improved considering the cool downs. It would also be nice if they reduced the cool downs of illusions even if its not by the 20% of the deleted trait, even 10% would be helpful.