Clarity On Smokescale Nerf

Gotejjeken.1267

They should change "overperforming pet" to "only performing pet", because that's what smokescale for the most part is.

The amount of nerfs smokescale has had over the years means it is likely they're never gonna add another pet with the ability to stick to opponents as well as smokescale can, or change any existing ones to do the same. The extremely predictable rotation of the smokescale, its cooldowns and generaly a pet that you actually need to pay attention to aside from the F2 are too much for the crybabies.

I only do pvp really but I never use the SS because of the damage, mainly just for the smoke field and the way smoke assault makes a lot of people panic and waste a dodge. I don't really see the nerf changing how I use SS at all. I'm a noob ranger but I don't think pets really need to output that much damage (at least for pvp). They work great for utility and to apply a small amount of pressure at all times. Idk, maybe I'm missing something.

> @"Zexanima.7851" said:

> I only do pvp really but I never use the SS because of the damage, mainly just for the smoke field and the way smoke assault makes a lot of people panic and waste a dodge. I don't really see the nerf changing how I use SS at all. I'm a noob ranger but I don't think pets really need to output that much damage (at least for pvp). They work great for utility and to apply a small amount of pressure at all times. Idk, maybe I'm missing something.

You said it yourself, having a pet that can stick to a target means it output _some_ extra pressure. That pressure is reduced when you nerf its damage. The builds that use pets as an actual damage source aren't viable, and those builds aren't using smokescale to dish out that damage in the first place, as it doesn't benefit from remorseless.