The Future of Tyrian Lore

Hi there. Thanks for the AFC! This is my first time posting to one, so I apologize if I make any mistakes.

First, I want to give a bit of a background story for myself with this franchise.

I started playing Guild Wars Prophecies back in ‘05 around launch. I was a kid at the time, and it was actually my first MMO, AND, my first real gaming experience. Because of this, I have a lot of love and nostalgia for Tyria.

Back then, I LOOOVED Tyria. It was my favorite world. From Tyria, to Cantha, to Elona, to the Far North and beyond, I loved the rich lore and history that you all at ArenaNet built into the game. The Fissure of Woe was one of my favorite places in all of this franchise. The gods and the interesting religion they introduced was another favorite part of the world for me. But honestly, I simply love Tyria so much. If you published 100 books in this world, I’d read them all.

When I heard about Guild Wars 2, and later, when I learned about the setting and the Elder Dragons, I was once again fascinated and in love with Tyria all over again!

As people, we live short lives in the grand scheme of the world, so we pretty much only experience one significant chunk of time in our world, which is something that saddens me greatly. But in a fictional universe, you can show us periods of time centuries apart, so, for me, going back through into areas I know from GW1 in GW2, is one of the most amazing experiences. Visiting old LA underwater, or the Crystal Desert in PoF, or even Ascalon as it slowly returns to its Pre-Searing state, all are some of my favorite experiences in any game I’ve ever played.

Some of this will be related to my questions below, but mostly, I just want to say thank you to all of you at ArenaNet, and to everyone that has worked at ArenaNet in the past, for making such an amazing world for us players to enjoy. I have so many fond memories in Tyria, and I have you to thank for all of them.