New Player, with a question

Ricasso.6018

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to GW2. I've been reading as much as I can and trying to learn. I'm looking to level up the old fashioned way. I'm not great a PvP and I plan on sticking to running content, raids, and other PvE content. I'm a long time WoW player that wanted to try something new. I hear the community for GW2 is super knowledgeable and helpful so here I am.

I've looked at all the professions and I'm really interested in playing a Thief. Can I get some honest feedback from the Thief community about playing one? Is it enjoyable, useful in raids and fractals (I think that is what you call dungeons, not sure). What builds would you recommend (I'm still learning how builds work)? Your help is much appreciated.

There's an ongoing balance issue with Thief.

Thief weapon skills consumes Initiative. It's what replaces cooldown for Thief weapon skills.

To balance these skills, ANet increase the cost more and more.

It's now at a point where a single skill can consume more than half your Initiative.

And you only get Initiative back at a rate of 1 per second.

Welcome!

As a profession thief is actually in a pretty decent spot. Ignore whether other specs can do more damage in X situation and focus on the gameplay.

Thief is a profession that involves doing damage and avoiding taking hits in the first place. It has few active mitigation skills like blocks or skills that apply boons (buffs) that reduce damage taken when you do get hit. As a profession as a whole it has lower HP so if you build for pure damage you will have much less HP to survive and take hit.