Mirage - Low Damage?

LadyLuxx.3861

Heya~

I'm wanting to get peoples opinions on the Mirage's/Mesmer damage in general.

I'm personally finding it extremely low, almost living up to "Only useful for portals".

I've been playing mesmer for 5 years.. however, I don't think I'll be playing it for much longer.

Anyone else experiencing this? in the sense of low damage?

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yeah I'm not seeing the damage to justify a risky, 100% selfish dps spec, at least in pve (the game mode I almost exclusively play).

I also am hesitant to consider this a PvP spec since core mesmer and shatter chrono are already fairly prominent in that niche, and I am under the impression that elites are supposed to allow classes to explore different niches / broaden the application of the classes. And since core mesmer and chrono both have application in PvP and support, then the only niche mesmer has been neglected in is a simple damage build.

The mirage suffers from ramp up problems in two dimensions. First is the natural ramp up time conditions have. Second is the ramp-up time that phantasms have. Combine these together, and you end up with a spec that takes forever to start taking forever. If you're in a fight for the long haul, a triple duelist + axe skills mirage can do serviceable DPS. But for general overworld usage, most enemies die before the ramp-up, and the spec is unable to do AoE damage. Even if axe 3 re-targets, the enemy will frequently die before you can save the phantasms.

My advice is to stick with power chrono for most open world stuff, and also for most fractals. Though power core mesmer does more damage, the chronomancer has so many QoL features on it that it'll turn out to be far more useful in the long haul.

I feel that Mirage is more of a PvP/WvW spec than a PvE one. Making your opponent lose you as a target, quick, instant, short distanced repositioning etc are more useful in PvP than PvE.