Pls make weapons and backpack dyeable!

> @Slowpokeking.8720 said:

> At least some of them, it would be so cool to dye the holosmith' lightsaber.

^ A thousand times YES! I loved the dyeable weapons from the first game. And I bought the moth wings backpack/glider thinking I could dye it. It was a huge disappointment when I realized my mistake.

Now, I am very much aware the work that would need to go into developing dyeable areas for all the weapons in the game and all back packs. I am a software engineer, so I get it. But maybe a few items could be converted over at a time, especially the most requested items.. Maybe put up a poll asking players which 10 items they wish were dyeable and try to make it happen. And ensure that most future items could be dyed as well. I know when I am coding that it is so much easier to make it right the first time, than to fish through the code to make changes months later.

> [Here's a former dev explaining why we can't dye weapons and aren't likely to every be able to](

"Here's a former dev explaining why we can't dye weapons and aren't likely to every be able to")

>> ...the decision to dye armor but not weapons was a design one (in the sense we chose to do it, not that there were insurmountable technical issues), and made pretty early.

> > * We wanted a much richer dye system for GW2 than we had in GW1.

> > * This would require some changes to the way that the source art was authored, which increased the complexity (and thus time) of doing so.

> > * That additional complexity pays off best for armor, which is more visible on-screen than weapons generally are,

> > * and so (I think) it was decided that we wouldn't bother authoring dye support into the weapon art.

> > * Eventually this decision would have led to code changes or optimization relying on that assumption, and we arrive at where we are today.

> >