New Player: Staff vs dagger/focus

ambush.4592

I'm new to GW2 (just started playing last week), and immediately fell in love with the Elementalist profession since it plays the way I wished a Balance Druid (from WOW) played--with the ability to switch between specs (fire/earth/air/water) mid-fight. I would like to know what is the optimal weapon type for the Elementalist for all content. Is dagger/focus viable in all content? or should I strictly switch to staff for AoE fights/zergs/raids?

I've been researching a lot of different forums, but most of the information I found are from 3+ years ago, which make them outdated.

> @"ambush.4592" said:

> I've been researching a lot of different forums, but most of the information I found are from 3+ years ago, which make them outdated.

Elementalist didn't change that much, so the build is the same.

I'm a PvE player, so I can't say about PvP or WvW. (I only play with Dragonhunter and Mirage in WvW.)

I love playing with Dagger/Focus in all PvE contents, but sometimes you can't attack in the melee range so I play with Scepter/Focus.

I usually play with Weaver, mainly Air/Water.

If you have HoT, Scepter/Warhorn is one of the best builds, mainly Air attunement.

If you have PoF, Sword/Dagger is the best but is not that easy to handle.

Staff is just meh, too slow and no precision.

For core ele your best option currently is power build with d/d. Focus is a condi/defensive weapon, which you don't need for leveling. Staff is weak and too slow. Scepter is alright, but it lacks consistent damage and cleave.

The optimal weapon doesn't exist. There's different builds with different elite specs and different weapon sets that work great in specific scenarios.