Why does GW not have a big streaming community?

Specifically, Twitch.

Personally I enjoy watching twitch streamers. It's a great way to chill (for me at least) pick up tips and have a chat with people surrounding a common interest. I was surprised when looking at how inactive the streaming community is when it comes to GW2.

At the time of writing this, current active viewers-

WoW; 20,776

OSRS; 8,328

GW2; 481

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts to why this is? Is it the obvious one that there's not a 'big streamer' who plays GW2?

Community seems strong both in game and on forums so I wonder why it's not transferring into streaming? Any Ideas?

Also I'm new in game and to forums so apologies if I've missed something glaringly obvious.

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Because it doesn't work well for streaming. Unlike more traditional mmorpgs GW2 is very fast paced and the overabundance of flashy skills and effects makes it really hard for an outside viewer to understand what is happening on screen. Sometimes it's hard even for us, players, to understand what is happening on screen, many big boss battles look like seizure-inducing light blobs. Imagine watching that from the outside.

I have to say though, I'm surprised by the WoW and Runescape numbers you posted, I'd expect them to be higher than GW2 but not by that much. I guess you can explain WoW numbers just from being WoW, always the outlier that doesn't work for comparisons. But the Runescape numbers look surprisingly high.

There's definitely something to be said about GW2's playerbase's general lack of drive to make content about the game. It seems like a much, much smaller proportion of the community are eager to make content, be it fan art, fan fiction, youtube videos, streaming, and less interested in consuming outside material about the game.

> @"mortrialus.3062" said: